2 methods to get your proportions right

Read Time: 1.9 Minutes

!!! if you CAN’T SEE THE IMAGES allow remote content from this email !!!

🌸 How to Draw Poses Group Classes 🌸

On Aug 31 (TOMORROW) I’m hosting 5 group-classes to teach you everything you’re missing to draw poses.

I want you so good at making poses that you never use my bases again 👍️ 

If that sounds awesome, sign up for my Perfect Pose Masterclass »

There are a lot of pieces to the human body. It’s pretty easy to get lost and put things in the wrong place - or make them the wrong size.

Here are 2 methods you can use to check your proportions.

Proportions - Head Method

This is the common method most internet tutorials teach.

The amount of head heights determine what kind of character people will see.

  • Less head heights (6 or less) = cuter / younger

  • 7 head heights = average adult

  • More heads heights (8 or more) = stronger or taller

For instance, children are around 4 head heights, while a comic book superhero may be 10 head heights.

Proportions - Quadrant Method

This is my method.

I don’t like having to count and measure everything in heads - so I usually just use this quadrant method to plot anatomy.

General landmarks within quadrants:

  • Top Half 1 - Mid point is the clavicle (also top of shoulders)

  • Top Half 2 - Mid point is belly button (also mid point of arms)

  • Bottom Half 1 - Mid point is about 2/3 down the thighs

  • Bottom Half 2 - Mid point is just below mid-shin

Notes

These are just guidelines

It’s better to think in terms of areas rather than “strict” measurements. Every body is different. You don’t have to be exact, just use general landmarks.

Female bodies are the same

Female bodies have the same landmarks and measurements. What makes a body look feminine are other cues. (I’ll make a guide for masculine vs feminine features at some point)

You can use both systems

I think the head system is a little tedious, so I like to start with the quadrants to quickly plot things out. I then use the head measurements to double-check everything.

As the proverb goes, “Measure twice, cut once”

Cool, that’s it ✌️ 

Peace,

Brosatsu

When you’re ready, here’s how I can help:

1. Perfect Pose Masterclass Starting Aug 31 (TOMORROW) I’m running a series of group classes to show you how to master creating and drawing poses using the same fool-proof methods I use to create all my poses. Feel free to check it out. I would love to teach you 🙏 

Got any questions, comments, or concerns? Reply to this email

What did you think about this newsletter?

Rate it!

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.