The single technique for pro character lighting

!!! if you CAN’T SEE THE IMAGES allow remote content from this email !!!

Read Time: 2.9 Minutes

🌸 PLUG WITHOUT SHAME-JUTSU 🤺 

Starting Aug 31 (in 8 days) I’m hosting 5 group-classes to show you the solutions to the biggest mistakes failing artists make drawing poses.

If I get my way, I’ll hand you the key to unlock poses - and you’ll never use my poses ever again 👍️ 

If that sounds chill, consider checking out my Perfect Pose Masterclass »

Lighting is one of the most complex parts of mastering illustration, but it’s also one of the best ways to FLEX on fools.

And cuz it’s critical to me that your art is flex-worthy I’m gonna show you how to nail your lighting from the start.

K, let’s get it!

Keep Light and Darks Separate

“Your darkest lights should still be brighter than your lightest darks.”

But wait…what does that even mean?

Think of values like a scale from 0 to 10

  • 0 being dark as possible

  • 10 being light as possible

black n white

using red

  1. Pick a point between 0 and 10 - I like 5 (or 50) for cel shaded stuff

  2. Every color you use with a value above your point (50) can only go in your LIGHT areas

  3. Every color you use with a value below your point (50) can only go in your DARK areas

Now that you’ve decided what is a “light” and what’s a “dark” in your piece, plan your lighting using a LIGHT and DARK map.

my lighting map

In these 2 distinct LIGHT and DARK areas there is an area where only the “light” values can go (above your point) and an area where only the “dark” values can go (below your point).

  • In the black area ONLY use colors that have a 0-5 value

  • In the white area ONLY use colors that have a 5-10 value

Let’s compare our piece following this guideline and one not following…

Light and dark values distinct from each other

Light and dark values not distinct from each other

See how the one with distinct values has a much stronger impact?

Proof 😏 

Keep your lights and darks separate to avoid muddy and washed out results. It’s a sure-fire way to make your art impactful.

Bonus: Commit to More Dynamic Lighting

This one is an extension from picking your light and dark areas.

The standard lighting for most characters is to just add some shade on the bottom or back of forms. It’s simple and reliable, but it rarely leads to memorable art.

This is the common character lighting

To create an image with more B A N G, start to think in distinct and confident light and dark areas.

Here’s a version with confident lighting

If you lack confidence with your figures and forms, I’m always willing to help.

Conclusion

Being decisive with your lights and darks (and planning where they go) will create more contrast. And contrast is the super-secret sauce of making art that commands attention.

In a later tutotial, I’ll show you some simple detailing tricks to make your characters sing!

As always, remember to have fun with your art. If it ain’t fun you won’t practice. If you don’t practice, you’ll never get good. And what’s the point if we don’t get good, amirite?

Peace,

Brosatsu

Howdy, I’m Brosatsu!

My mission is to teach your how to thrive as a creator - whether it’s building an audience, paying the bills, or just feeling good about what you make ;3

I’m launching my 5 week group-class in 8 days!

1. Perfect Pose Masterclass Starting Aug 31 I’m running a series of group classes to show you how to master creating and drawing poses using the same fool-proof methods I use to create all my poses. Feel free to check it out. I would love to teach you 🙏 

Got any questions? Reply to this email

What did you think about this newsletter?

Rate it!

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.